콘텐츠로 바로가기 대메뉴로 바로가기



Uirimji Reservoir

Print

1st Scenic View- A Relic from the Samhan PeriodUirimji Reservoir

  • Uirimji Reservoir 1
  • Uirimji Reservoir 2
  • Uirimji Reservoir 3
  • Uirimji Reservoir 4
  • Uirimji Reservoir 5
  • Uirimji Reservoir 6
  • Uirimji Reservoir 7
  • Uirimji Reservoir 8
  • Uirimji Reservoir 9
  • Uirimji Reservoir 10
10 / 10
  • Address33, Uirimji-ro, Jecheon-si, Chungcheongbuk-do
  • Contact043-651-7101
  • Opening Hours Permanently Opened Year-Round
  • ClosedOpen Year-Round
  • Entry FeeNone
  • HomepageNone
  • Parking Facilities Tongnamu Service Area (Uirimji Reservoir Parking Only) free of charge

Tour Attraction

Uirimji Reservoir, the first of the Ten Scenic Views of Jecheon, is one of the oldest irrigation facilities in Korea’s history and is popular amongst residents of Jecheon as a rest area thanks to the perfect combination of a vast lake and pine forest.

Originally called “Imji,” the Uirimji Reservoir is one of Korea’s top reservoirs next to the Byeokgolje in Gimje and Susanje in Milyang, both built during the time of Samhan Period. When county names were changed during the 11th year of King Seongjong of Goryeo’s reign (992), Jecheon was called “Uiwonhyeon” or “Uicheon.” The first word “Ui” was placed in front of “Imji,” creating the name “Uirimji.” Although it is unclear on when the reservoir was built, legends state that it originated from an embankment created by AkseongUreuk, who blocked off a stream from Yongdusan Mountain (871m) during the reign of King Jinheung of the Silla Kingdom (540~575). After 700 years, it is said that Governor Park Ui Rim mobilized residents of 4 counties to stack 3 levels of stones around the pond to prevent leaks, cut gigantic stones into square pieces to create floodgates, and carved his name on the bottom of the stone.

In the current times, Uirimji Reservoir is known more as a recreational site than an irrigational facility. Numerous scenic sites such as the ‘Yeonghojeong Pavilion’ built in 1807, the ‘Gyeonghoru Pavilion’ built in 1948, pine and weeping willow trees several centuries old, and a 30m natural waterfall come together to create a magnificent sight. The smelt fish, caught during the cold and thawing seasons, is one of the regional delicacies and is best served raw with its clean taste. Uirimji Reservoir’s watershed plant was prominent enough to be featured on the King’s royal table. Akseong Ureuk, one of the 3 Akseongs in Korean history and master of the gayageum, spent the later part of his days here at Uirimji Reservoir. The Ureukdae Rock (also known as Jebibawi Rock, Yeonam Rock, or Yongbawi Rock), where he played his instrument, and the Ureukjeong Pavilion he drank from are reminders of his life.

Solbat Park

A forest filled with centuries-old pine trees can be seen by walking up the path from Uirimji Reservoir. The refreshing phytoncide form the pine trees brings relief to all those who visit, making it one of the highly favored destination of tourists.

Directions

bus icon
  • Jecheon Station:Jecheon Station Bus Stop (31, 35, 523, 531, 541) -> Uirimji Reservoir Bus Stop
  • Jecheon Express / Intercity Bus Terminal:Intercity Bus Terminal Bus Stop (3-1, 3-2, 31, 35, 523, 531, 541) -> Uirimji Reservoir Bus Stop

Surrounding Information

Around Uirimji Reservoir  28 Spot